IT Academy

078931-blue-metallic-orb-icon-business-wireless

We are a wi-fi hotspot!

 

Library Hours:
Mon, Wed, Fri: 10am - 5pm
Tue & Thur: 12pm - 8pm
Sat: 10am - 2pm

HOW DO I GET A LIBRARY CARD?

Columbia County Rural Library District’s eligibility policy is based on residency or property ownership in the unincorporated areas of Columbia County or any specific service agreement entered into with other cities, towns, and counties within the state of Washington or outside the state of Washington.

Any person living outside the boundaries of the Columbia County Rural Library District or contracted service areas need to purchase a non-resident card (this includes residents living in the city limits of Starbuck, who do not own property in the county).

Residents of unincorporated areas of Columbia County and City of Dayton residents may get a library card by bringing in proof of your physical address and filling out a patron card registration form. Parents or legal guardians must sign for any child under the age of 18. A child must be 5 or older to obtain a library card.

Out-of-county residents, including those people living within the city limits of Starbuck may also get a library card. The cost for a nonresident card is $35.00 per person for a year, $20 a year per person for senior citizens 62 and over and $15 per person for a three-month card.

WHAT ARE YOUR HOURS OF OPERATION?

The Dayton Memorial Library of the Columbia County Rural Library District’s hours are:

Monday, Wednesday, and Friday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Tuesday and Thursday: Noon to 8 p.m.

Saturday: 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.

WHAT IS THE CHECKOUT PERIOD FOR LIBRARY ITEMS?

All items are checked out for 4 weeks (28 days).

The book drop is located outside Dayton Memorial Library for your convenience.

WHAT IS THE NUMBER OF ITEMS I'M ALLOWED TO CHECK OUT?

Each person with a library card may check out a maximum of 40 items.

WHAT ARE DOWNLOADABLE AUDIOBOOKS AND HOW DO I USE THEM?

An audiobook is a recording of someone reading a book aloud. Downloadable audiobooks recordings saved to the internet, which you may copy from our provider's website, and load onto your mp3 device or personal computer.

To make use of our downloadable audiobook collection, patrons must first come into the library to create their account to enable downloading from home. This service is currently available only to Columbia County residents.

You may check out and download up to ten (10) audiobooks at one time. When the checkout period expires, you will no longer be able to listen to the file on your device. Also, you cannot check out and download the same eAudiobook to more than one computer unless you use a different account on each computer

DO YOU HAVE OVERDUE FINES?

There are no overdue fines. As a courtesy to the library’s public, overdue notices will go out on the 11th day an item is overdue and once again on the 30th day an item is overdue.

ARE THERE OTHER CHARGES?

All items 180 days overdue convert to lost status and a lost fee is charged in lieu of an overdue charge. Fee for lost items overdue is $1.50 per book up to a maximum of $6.00 plus replacement cost of material.

Please see our listing of fines and fees.

WHAT ABOUT LOST MATERIAL?

  • Patrons owe for the replacement cost of any item that is lost.

  • Patron owes both the lost fee and the replacement charge if the item is 180 days or more overdue.

  • If the item is returned, patron still owes the lost fee charge of $1.50 per book up to a maximum of $6.00 if the item is 180 days or more overdue.

  • If item is returned prior to 180 days of being overdue, no fee will be charged.

  • If the patron, with approval of Library Manager or Director, provides the Library with a suitable replacement for the lost item, the replacement charge and lost fee are waived.

  • If patron pays the replacement charges and the lost fee and later returns the “lost” item to the Library, no refund is given. The patron may keep the item or donate it to the Library.

Please see our listing of fines and fees.

I GOT A LETTER IN THE MAIL SAYING I HAVE OVERDUE ITEMS. WHY?

Email or phone calls will be made as a courtesy to our library patrons when an item is 11 days overdue. (No fee for overdue item).

A written courtesy notice will be sent to library patrons when an item is 30 days overdue. (No fee for overdue item).

At 180 days overdue item will be placed in the lost category and lost material applies.

Please let library staff know if you would like to receive email notification.

HOW MAY I RENEW MATERIALS?

You may renew by:

1. Calling the library

2. Coming into the library

3. Renew online by going to the library’s online catalog and renewing through your account using your library card number. Renewals online   must be placed prior to the due date. Any material that is overdue, lost,   or you owe the library money will not renew through the online process.

4. You may not renew an item if there is another hold placed on that item. You will need to return the material immediately if someone else has requested that material.

HOW CAN I PLACE A HOLD?

Place a hold on a item by:

1. Calling the library

2. Coming into the library

3. Place a hold online by going to the library’s online catalog and placing the hold through your account using your library card number. You will not be allowed to place a hold on material if any material is overdue, lost, or you owe the library money.

You Are Here:

Home FAQ's